Prescot Church to Ring Bells for Hillsborough 96

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

The bells of Prescot Parish Church will toll 96 times on Tuesday 15 April.

Each ring remembers one of the 96 lives lost in the Hillsborough disaster, which took place at the home ground of Sheffield Wednesday FC on 15 April 1989 – 25 years ago to the day.


On that day, during the FA Cup semifinal between Liverpool and Nottingham Forest, police opened the gates to an already-overcrowded standing area, resulting in a crush that claimed the lives of 96 Liverpool supporters.

In 2012, the Hillsborough Independent Panel revealed that the failure of police control, rather than the behaviour of fans, was responsible for the disaster. In the aftermath, both police and government altered and suppressed evidence to hide police failure.

The deaths are now the subject of a second inquest, after the original verdicts were overturned.

The bells of St Mary’s will ring out from 3.06pm on Tuesday, to mark the time that the referee blew the whistle to end the match at Hillsborough.

Editor’s note: Prescot Online stands with the people of Liverpool, the 96 who died on 15 April 1989, and the friends and family who continue to pursue justice.

The names of the 96 are:

Jon-Paul Gilhooley
Philip Hammond
Thomas Anthony Howard
Paul Brian Murray
Lee Nicol
Adam Edward Spearritt
Peter Andrew Harrison
Victoria Jane Hicks
Philip John Steele
Kevin Tyrrell
Kevin Daniel Williams
Kester Roger Marcus Ball
Nicholas Michael Hewitt
Martin Kevin Traynor
Simon Bell
Carl Darren Hewitt
Keith McGrath
Stephen Francis O’Neill
Steven Joseph Robinson
Henry Charles Rogers
Stuart Paul William Thompson
Graham John Wright
James Gary Aspinall
Carl Brown
Paul Clark
Christopher Barry Devonside
Gary Philip Jones
Carl David Lewis
John McBrien
Jonathon Owens
Colin Mark Ashcroft
Paul William Carlile
Gary Christopher Church
James Philip Delaney
Sarah Louise Hicks
David William Mather
Colin Wafer
Ian David Whelan
Stephen Paul Copoc
Ian Thomas Glover
Gordon Rodney Horn
Paul David Brady
Thomas Steven Fox
Marian Hazel McCabe
Joseph Daniel McCarthy
Peter McDonnell
Carl William Rimmer
Peter Francis Tootle
David John Benson
David William Birtle
Tony Bland
Gary Collins
Tracey Elizabeth Cox
William Roy Pemberton
Colin Andrew Hugh William Sefton
David Leonard Thomas
Peter Andrew Burkett
Derrick George Godwin
Graham John Roberts
David Steven Brown
Richard Jones
Barry Sidney Bennett
Andrew Mark Brookes
Paul Anthony Hewitson
Paula Ann Smith
Christopher James Traynor
Barry Glover
Gary Harrison
Christine Anne Jones
Nicholas Peter Joynes
Francis Joseph McAllister
Alan McGlone
Joseph Clark
Christopher Edwards
James Robert Hennessy
Alan Johnston
Anthony Peter Kelly
Martin Kenneth Wild
Peter Reuben Thompson
Stephen Francis Harrison
Eric Hankin
Vincent Michael Fitzsimmons
Roy Harry Hamilton
Patrick John Thompson
Michael David Kelly
Brian Christopher Mathews
David George Rimmer
Inger Shah
David Hawley
Thomas Howard
Arthur Horrocks
Eric George Hughes
Henry Thomas Burke
Raymond Thomas Chapman
John Alfred Anderson
Gerard Bernard Patrick Baron


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *