Prescot Town Council By-election Candidates Announced

By on Monday, February 27, 2017

Five candidates will stand in the Prescot Town Council elections on Thursday 23 March, when two seats are being contested.

In Prescot East Ward, Adam Flanders stands for Labour, while Kai Taylor runs for the Green Party.

In Prescot North West, Stephen Byron stands for Labour, Tyrone Noon for the Conservative Party, and current Knowsley borough councillor Ian Smith for the Liberal Democrats.

Where on 9 February’s by-election Greens and Lib Dems ran head-to-head, each will contest a separate ward on 23 March, avoiding a potential split of the non-Labour vote.

The full notice of election is available at

Some facts about Prescot Town Council:

  • Town councillors serve voluntarily, receiving neither a salary nor expenses
  • The town council’s role includes distributing money to community and charitable causes, investing relatively small sums in the town, and championing the town’s interests before larger bodies and agencies
  • The town council is different from Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council, whose members are paid and have more influence over large-scale decisions
  • The council is based at Prescot Town Hall on Warrington Road. See the website here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *